FreeBSD: Wifi Intel 3945ABG working with 8.2


Recently (3 days ago) I updated my PCBSD 8.2-RC1 to PCBSD 8.2 Release, with FreeBSD 8.2 Release under the hood. This is the first time I can use the wifi integrated card Intel 3945ABG in my Thinkpad R61. There are some patches form 8.1 and previous but this release is the first with wpi0 working out of the box.

As usual several customizations have to be done in order to configure power, suspend/resume or automout. Read previous entries in this blog for that.

As well I must say I’m very impressed with hald and XFCE4. It seems to work pretty well automounting pendrives and external usb disks. So… FreeBSD/PCBSD 8.2 it’s a fantastic release.

Thanks to FreeBSD/PCBSD team.

 

About jjjesss

I'm a guy interested in technology, bsd fan and concerned about the world around.
This entry was posted in BSD, FreeBSD. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FreeBSD: Wifi Intel 3945ABG working with 8.2

  1. Daniel says:

    Not working for me for bought ethernet and wifi
    bge0: irq 18 at device 0.0 on pci4
    bge0: 0x10000 bytes of rid 0x10 res 3 failed (0, 0xffffffff).
    bge0: couldn’t map memory
    device_attach: bge0 attach returned 6
    wpi0: irq 19 at device 0.0 on pci5
    wpi0: 0x1000 bytes of rid 0x10 res 3 failed (0, 0xffffffff).
    wpi0: could not allocate memory resource
    device_attach: wpi0 attach returned 6

  2. jjjesss says:

    Well, in my case I use PC-BSD 8.2, and the default installation configure a lot of things in /boot/loader.conf. For example, not only you have to load the module or compile the kernel with support for your card, it’s necessary to ack the license:

    legal.intel_wpi.license_ack=1

    Which is your installation? FreeBSD native or PC-BSD?

    I encourage you to find more info in Google. Sure other people have have your problems, and sure there is a solution… matter of time and patience.

    BR

  3. Daniel says:

    Waaa if I need to compile the kernel with support for my Network cards that is really, really scary. Mabye BSD is not for people searching for Windows – MacOs alternatives but for Unix professionals.
    The OS I installed is also Pc-BSD.

  4. Daniel says:

    Waaa if I need to compile the kernel with support for my Network cards that is really, really scary. Maybe BSD is not for people searching for Windows – MacOs alternatives but for Unix professionals.
    The OS I installed is also Pc-BSD.

  5. jjjesss says:

    Well, I agree with you, compile kernel for first time is an adventure, but it’s worthy. FreeBSD is a fantastic OS. Linux as well (I love Ubuntu and Slackware). But, if you like do things by yourself give an oportunity to FreeBSD. Make a backup and if it fails then reinstall🙂 and try again.

    I must say that things are much more easier (some of them) in Linux, but much more funny in BSD🙂

Leave a Reply

